PDA

View Full Version : "07" LBZ Warrantee?

TJNE
11-18-2008, 17:30
I think I may be having injector issues, I'm kinda new to diesel. I have a 07 classic LBZ w/66k miles. I'm dissapointed in the 12 mpg around town (compared to my fathers 08 Cummings @ 17 mpg). I had it in for the EGR clean and it did not seem to help. What else would they have checked, it had 5 codes but they said the EGR problem probably triggered the other codes. Makes sense, the light has not come back on since. I'm affraid to take it back in and find out it will take big $$$ to solve my mpg problem. Its bone stock except for a K&N filter. It runs smooth and has lots of power and acceleration, it has a cloud of smoke when you dump the throttle but cleans up in a few seconds. I tried injector cleaner which helped mpg while it was in the tank but went back to same millage when it was used up. I have done the millage by hand and the DIC is with in 2-3 tenths. 1. Should I take it in? 2. What is covered? 3. What maybe some problems? 4. Any suggestions before I take it in?

All help is greatly appriciated. Thanks in advance.:eek::confused:

DmaxMaverick
11-18-2008, 21:19
The standard GM Diesel engine warranty is 5 years or 100K miles. Covers everything between the valve covers and the oil pan, fuel system, and any emissions components (including EGR and engine electronics). The EGR service should have been a warranty issue. And, GM, or any mfg, won't give you much satisfaction when it comes to mileage complaints. You should be doing better, but they won't help unless a problem can be identified. There are too many variable effecting fuel economy, and the problem is usually driving habits.

TJNE
11-19-2008, 07:17