Thread: Fuel leak help

Default Fuel leak help

Hi everyone I'm pretty new to the site and was wondering if anyone could give me a hand fixing the fuel leak which is occuring around the fuel filter housing area. I'm fairly new to working on engines especially diesel's, but it's the only way. I've tried changing my fuel filter but it hasn't helped so now I want to remove the filter housing to investigate further. But... I can't figure out how to depressurize the system so I can replace the lines without getting diesel all over the place. Also when following instructions on removing water/ replacing filter, the fuel in the filter bowl would not receed so i just use the wife's turkey-baster. Could these things be related. any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

One thing that helps take the pressure off the system is to open the fuel tank cap.
    Bob
    Last edited by bobt; 01-03-2010 at 22:03. Reason: further explain
    2009 LTZ 3500 D/A ext-cab DRW
    1993 11' 3" Lance cabover camper

Don't worry about the pressure, but do open the filler cap. the water drain works when the engine (and lift pump) are running.

Common leaks are the hoses attached to the bottom of the filter housing and the o-ring for the fuel heater. Less common are actual leaks in the heater itself.
    The Constitution needs to be re-read, not re-written!

If you can't handle Dr. Seuss, how will you handle real life?

Current oil burners: MB GLK250 BlueTEC, John Deere X758
    New ride: MB GLS450 - most stately
    Gone but not forgotten: '87 F350 7.3, '93 C2500 6.5, '95 K2500 6.5, '06 K2500HD 6.6, '90 MB 350SDL, Kubota 7510

Arrow