Thread: needing some conversion advice

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question needing some conversion advice

Hello The Diesel Page Forum,

First off please bear with me and my lack of terminology. As you guys can see from the title I am looking into converting my Range Rover Petrol engine into a Diesel but I am no mechanic so this is going to be a learning curve for me. Obviously, I am going to get a mechanic to do the work if I decide that converting is the right choice but I have a few question for you guys first.

I suppose my first and most important question would be, is it possible to convert any petrol engine over to Diesel?

If it is possible, How much am I looking at in terms of cash to convert my Range Rover 4.4L Automatic petrol engine into a Diesel?

In terms of power will the Diesel engine feel the same to drive as my petrol? I'm assuming there is going to be a substantial amount of power loss and torque but I could be wrong?

I'm sure I will have a few more questions for you guys after I know the answers to these. If there is any other information you guys need please let me know and I will get back to you ASAP.

Thanks

In general, you’re questions are a bit too vague to be able to supply good answers.

A lot is going to depend on what diesel engine you’re looking to put into your Rover. I’ll admit that I don’t know a lot about what Range Rover offers in petrol or diesel versions and even less about what they offer in the non-US models.

I suppose my first and most important question would be, is it possible to convert any petrol engine over to Diesel?
    The way the question is worded, I’m not quite sure on your intent. If the question is whether any petrol engine can be replaced with a diesel engine, the answer would be yes - it just depends on how much time and money you’re willing to put to it. I once saw a VW Bug with an airplane engine swapped into it - so anything is possible.