Thread: Best NEW Duramax CAT Fuel Filter

Default Best NEW Duramax CAT Fuel Filter

Helpful article that every Duramax owner should know.

Read at link Below:
    Best NEW Duramax CAT Fuel Filter | Diesel Addict

First, I am a diesel owner and driver and definitely not a technician. I do my own filter changes and have performed this task 14 times on my 2006 LBZ so far.

One problem I see with the add in the previous post concerns the statement " A better lift pump will even out the pressure in your fuel system".

I was under the impression that the fuel system in the Duramax was a vacuum system not a pressure system? Otherwise a leak during filter installation would result in leaking fuel vs getting air in the system.

Someone more knowledgeable than me please chime in here. I would agree that better filtration is a good thing, but this doesn't seem to be it to me.
    Ed
    KM4STL

'06 Sierra LBZ 4x4 Crew SB, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, TTT/Schefenacker Mirrors
    '98 Suburban, 245,000 - sold 7-4-06

Quote Originally Posted by EdHale View Post
    First, I am a diesel owner and driver and definitely not a technician. I do my own filter changes and have performed this task 14 times on my 2006 LBZ so far.

One problem I see with the add in the previous post concerns the statement " A better lift pump will even out the pressure in your fuel system".

I was under the impression that the fuel system in the Duramax was a vacuum system not a pressure system? Otherwise a leak during filter installation would result in leaking fuel vs getting air in the system.

Someone more knowledgeable than me please chime in here. I would agree that better filtration is a good thing, but this doesn't seem to be it to me.