Thread: Fair price for a 2000 Chevy 2500 Pickup????

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Fair price for a 2000 Chevy 2500 Pickup????

Hi,

As you can tell by my post count Im a relative newbie to this forum, though Ive lurked for a long time and have read and read. There is so much information on here even though I dont own a 6.5 TD Veh at this time, I feel its something I could work on no problem.

I'll cut to the chase. I have a 1991 Chevy K1500 Reg Cab Long Bed - it has a 350TBI motor - has about 250k miles - used to be my daily driver but now just my hunting/work truck. Ive severed my emotional attachment to it and am going to sell it.

Found this 2000 Chevy K2500 (Old body style or "Classic") Reg Cab Long bed pickup at a dealer online.

Ive called them and worked out a deal.

Ive figured if I pay for an independent inspection, pay KS Sales tax, shipping etc I'll have about $6800 in it to my door after fees/taxes etc.

Is this a bad price? NADA (I work for an insurance company and primarily do total losses shows around $7500 but on diesel pickups and especially older ones thats hit or miss and the market could swing that price north or south by a couple thousand.

I seem to think its ok, though I would like to only have $6k in it.

It looks like it needs new tires, Id plan on changing the injectors and glow plugs, as well as exhaust, a cold air kit and a PMD relocation kit. Id also buy some a/m rims and tires and whatever truck I bought (unless it had it already I was planning on buying a replacement bumper such as this The Lock - n - Load bumper is the one Id likely buy - Id have another $1500 or so in that.

Anyways, I guess back to my question, for those of you that follow the niche GM 6.5 diesel truck market - do you think this is a fair price on what I posted above. (This is provided the inspection checks out - everything seems kosher, however I want to have an independent company go look at it so Im not buying a lemon)