Thread: 03 LB7 Injector change

Default 03 LB7 Injector change

I am new to this page and fairly new to the diesel world. I have a 2003 LB7with roughly 180,000 miles that I have been told needs new injectors. It still has plenty of power but gets a knocking sound that gets louder the longer I drive the truck. I've had several different people look at it and without tearing into the engine everyone has been stumped. Some seem to think it might be an injector issue. The only thing I've noticed that's different besides the knock is my oil pressure stats real low now. The pressure is good when I first crank the truck but after it warms up and I come to a stop it drops back down to right above red, when I take off again it picks back up. Any help or advice would be much appreciated, thanks.

It's hard to gauge the severity of a "knock" though the internet, but what I can tell you is if it is a fuel related knock (especially if accompanied by black smoke) then I would discontinue driving it before you break a piston.

Injector balance rates are a very basic starting point. They may not pinpoint the issue, but they could put you on a path to the solution.

I should note that I am often dismissive of balance rates when a guy has symptoms like fuel in oil or heavy white smoke. In cases like these, the injectors can function relatively normal yet cause the symptoms and the balance rates will look just fine.
    Last edited by Kennedy; 07-25-2014 at 06:39.
    Kennedy Diesel-owner
    More than just a salesman-I use and test the products that I sell on a daily basis!
    Superflow Lie Detector in house
    2002 Chev K2500HD D/A CC Long LT 11.77@ 124mph at 7700# fuel only-e.t. needs help
    2005 Chev K3500SRW D/A CC Long LT(SOLD)
    2007 Chev K2500 Classic EC Short LT (Sold)
    2012 GMC K3500SRW D/A CC Long LTZ Happy Birthday to me! Built 1 working day after my birthday and delivered 7 days later.
    2016 GMC K3500SRW D/A CC short LTZ