Thread: Bronco Swap Recommendation

Default Bronco Swap Recommendation

I'm in the planning stage for a diesel swap into an early Ford Bronco (1974). The truck currently has a 351W. I'm thinking 4BTA, but I'd like some feedback as I'm no diesel expert. Here are my criteria:

1. Will fit into an early Bronco (fab work is fine).
    2. Reliable
    3. Parts availability
    4. Power/fuel mileage
    5. Cost
    6. Noise

#5 and #6 are my biggest worries with the 4BTA. Doesn't seem overly cheap, and they're noisy...

As far as fabrication skills, I am willing/capable of doing anything short of adapter plates for transmissions, etc. I'm capable, but not willing...

Thanks,

Danny

06 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT, CCLB, SRW, Duramax/Allison; Planning 72 Bronco Diesel Swap

Arrow

Welcome aboard!

I'll try to keep it simple.

1. Yes.

2. Very.

3. Widely available, just about anywhere.

4. Modest to excellent, depending on your objective, and #5 & #6.

5. Cost depends on how you source the powerplant, transmission choice (and sourcing), how much custom work you do yourself. Ranges from a little to a lot. (yeah, vague, but the facts)

6. Here's the catch. NVH is quite high, when set up normally. They can be quieted down significantly, but it's a trade off with #4 and #5, and possibly #2 (too many variables, just yet).

Transmission adapter plates are available from several sources. They were equipped with several options. The best approach is to source one with a tranny you will use (or compatible), so no worries with that. If you don't, they aren't too expensive, relatively.