TheDieselPage.com Forums  
2014 - TDP's 19th Year
What's New: | Feature Articles: | Product Reviews: | Member's Area: | Subscribe:
Duramax 6600 Diesel Page | Advertiser's Section | Classified Ads | Photo Album | Diesel Books, GM Licensed T-shirts


Go Back   TheDieselPage.com Forums > Chevrolet & GMC 2500HD/3500 Light Trucks > 2500HD/3500 HD Trucks & Drivetrain
Register FAQ Members List Photo Album Mark Forums Read

2500HD/3500 HD Trucks & Drivetrain Discussion Forum for the 2001 & newer 2500HD/3500 Trucks, Transmissions & Drivetrain

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2008, 07:47 AM
Tinman Tinman is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rockford, Illinois 61108
Posts: 31
Default How do I change dash lights??

I have removed the cluster. How do I access the lightbulbs?? Thanks for your help, Joe

I have a 2003 Chevy Silverado HD Duramax

Last edited by Tinman; 03-15-2008 at 07:49 AM. Reason: added type of truck
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2008, 08:08 AM
Tinman Tinman is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rockford, Illinois 61108
Posts: 31
Question How to open cluster?

I could maybe get to the lights, however, I am unable to get the cluster open. There are clamps/clips around the outside that are open, but it still will not come apart. We can remove the rear to reveil the computer board. Do you have to take out the board to get at the lights to replace them? If so, how do I get the board off. I don't want to break it. Thanks, Joe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:18 AM
Tinman Tinman is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rockford, Illinois 61108
Posts: 31
Default You have to buy the cluster

I have found out that you can not replace the bulbs on the dash. The operate the gear lights (Drive - reverse- neutral...) and the speedometer at night.

I had to purchase a new cluster $250 wholesale and $400 retail.

This STINKS!!!

-Joe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2008, 05:21 PM
Dakster Dakster is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 299
Default

Wow... That does stink... I remember on my older cars I could replace burned out lights...

SInce you purchased a new one, you may want to try and dremel the old one apart and see if you could change the lights?
__________________
2007 Silverado, 3500HD, 4X4, CC, Long Bed, SRW, LMM Diesel, Navi, DVD, Roll-N-Lock Cover, ICI Running Boards, CoastalEtech GM Lockpick for DVD/Nav changes in Motion, Back-up Camera...

2006.5 VW Jetta Special Edition TDI - Blue Graphite - European Spec VW Fact. Nav Radio.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2008, 01:27 PM
Duramaster's Avatar
Duramaster Duramaster is offline
GMC World Class Technician
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 735
Arrow

It is my understanding that the lights are actually LED's Dakster. At least the indicator lights are. We usually get our IPC's from ISSPRO out of Seattle, WA. I have tried to disassmeble the IPC before, but no luck. Don't forget, 2003 and newer need to be programmed by you GM dealer. The IPC needs to know what kind of vehicle it is in and what kind of options the vehicle as well as having the VIN programmed into it.
__________________
1998 Chevy k-2500 454 147,000 miles and climbing!

1993 Pontiac G/A Big Block 3.3 Liter 140,000 miles and still going too!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:32 PM
Dakster Dakster is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 299
Default

You can still change LEDS with a soldering iron, however, it looks like "they" made it so you can't get to them.
__________________
2007 Silverado, 3500HD, 4X4, CC, Long Bed, SRW, LMM Diesel, Navi, DVD, Roll-N-Lock Cover, ICI Running Boards, CoastalEtech GM Lockpick for DVD/Nav changes in Motion, Back-up Camera...

2006.5 VW Jetta Special Edition TDI - Blue Graphite - European Spec VW Fact. Nav Radio.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2008, 07:06 PM
madmatt madmatt is offline
I've got nothing catchy to put here
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,177
Default

it can be done. A buddy of mine changed the colors of his and it looks sick. He posted the instructions on another page but I'll see if i can post them here too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-19-2008, 07:10 PM
madmatt madmatt is offline
I've got nothing catchy to put here
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,177
Default

here's the "how to". There are more tips and notes posted that I will add at a later date. Hope this helps!

Ok well I have searched the internet high and low and never found a write up on how to do this. So I present my fellow Diesel owners a good "How to"!! I chose to use white LEDs, but didnt achieve the proper effect that I was going for. Ill explain that later in the post. The LEDs require specific resistors, so do your homework before attempting this modification. You need to figure out the + and - on your cluster. This mod is not for the weak of the heart. I would say on a scale of 1-10 10 being the hardest ill give it a 6. If you have any questions feel free to post.

Parts needed:
Soldering Iron
LEDs
Resistors
A good steady hand.


Step 1:
Remove the cluster from the dash, I should not have to tell you how to do this.

Step 2:
Disassemble the cluster this is rahter difficult, and a PITA The needles are a serious pain to remove. Be extremely careful when pulling them off.
This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 800x601 pixels and 171KB in size.


Step 3:
You should be down to the circuit board where the lights are.
This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 601x800 pixels and 109KB in size.


Step 4:
Now you gotta remove the old bulbs, I used my soldering iron to heat the contacts and lightly lifted on the bulb, they come off pretty easy.
This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 800x600 pixels and 37KB in size.


This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 800x600 pixels and 42KB in size.


Step 5:
Soldering in the resistors, I tried to keep mine as short as possibly so that they wouldnt be taller then the bulbs i removed.
This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 800x600 pixels and 55KB in size.


This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 800x600 pixels and 71KB in size.


Step 6:
Hooking up the LEDs. This is pretty easy, if you found out the + and - on your dash, this really wont be a problem. Remember you want to keep these LEDs down low about the same hieght as the factory bulbs you removed.

This image has been resized. Click this bar to view the full image. The original image is 800x600 pixels and 52KB in size.


Step 7:
Reassemble the dash, if you paid attention when you took it apart this wont be a problem. The needles are the hardest part.
If you are ready to set the needles, just unplug the cluster. Wait a few seconds and plug the cluster back in. Make sure the key is in the off position.

You will here the Motors reset when you plug in the cluster. Set each needle pointing to the low mark or 0.

The fuel needle, set a little below the low mark.

To test each needle setting, just unplug the cluster and plug back in. They will reset and should all be pointing at 0 or low.
You can also check your needles for proper placement by moving all of them in the vertical position ( pointing straight up), only after you have unplugged the cluster, and then plugging the cluster back in. When the cluster is plugged back in, the gauges should read 0 or low. Never move the needles when the cluster is plugged in.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:08 AM
Duraswede's Avatar
Duraswede Duraswede is offline
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 81
Default

**** that didn't sound good, i have a dark temperature gage in my cluster so i hoped it's just a lightbulb to replace, but if it's LED, it won't be easy..
do you think it's the same on my GMC 3500 -03 (manufactured dec. -02)
is it LED's for the illumination in the climate control and steering wheel buttons too?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:20 AM
madmatt madmatt is offline
I've got nothing catchy to put here
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,177
Default

yes those are LEDs too. He's working on getting those changed also.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1996-2014 by TheDieselPage.com - All Rights Reserved