Thread: Bleed fuel system

Default Bleed fuel system

Thanks in advance. I know there are many threads on this topic but none seemed to give me what I needed. I changed the fuel filter on my 1982 k5 chevy blazer, 6.2L diesel. Air got introduced to the system and now it won't start. Realize I need to bleed it but can't figure out what this actually means. Attached are some pics. On another thread I saw the statement, "you gotta bleed the lines at the injectors.... with the starter. crack'em all loose a turn or 2 then crank until at least a few or all start weeping fuel then retighten." I'm new to diesel so I'm not really sure what, in the pictures, needs to be loosened... or where they are. Please help!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Toddnj; 08-09-2014 at 16:09.

Arrow

Welcome aboard!

What you are looking for is not pictured. The "injector lines", where they need to be loosened for bleeding the injector lines, are at the heads, about where a spark plug will be on a gasser, except they will have fuel pipes/nuts instead of wire boots.

However, you may not need to do any of that. If it's air-locked due to opening the high pressure side or installing a new pump, it may be necessary, but you aren't doing that. If only after a filter change, the first thing you need to do is bleed the filter. Normally it's simple, so take notes for future changes......

Charge batteries, if necessary (this time, it shouldn't be necessary next time).

Disconnect the pink wire from the injection pump (forward-most on top, to the left of the return hose outlet on the pump in your #2 pic). This will prevent any (further) air from moving to and through the IP.

Open the bleed valve at the top of the fuel filter assy. Route a hose from the bleeder to a container, if possible (not required, but a lot less messy). If you have a helper, have them watch for fuel coming out of the bleeder, then signal you.