Thread: Do you let your Diesel run while sitting?...Why?

I'm new to diesel ownership.

Why do the Pro's leave their engines running all the time? Except when they shut them off.....

I can understand cold weather concerns, but why would the guy hauling a commercial trailer or otherwise, leave the sucker running for no other reason but to simply drive off?
    Regards,<br />Elliot<br /><br />Black \'04 Crew/Shortbox<br />with \"Texas Ranch Dressing\"<br /><br /><br />end of line

I leave mine run when I get out of it at short stops. I do this because diesels are inherently hard on starters and batteries. Leaving it run means one less time that I had to crank it over, extending battery and starter life in my opinion.

I did not do this on the first diesel I had 15 years ago, and I replaced quite a few starters and batteries in it. The 3 trucks I have had since then, have had little to no problem with batteries and starters and I have been doing the "leave it run thing" on all 3.

Regards,

Kevin
    2002 2500 HD, LT Trim, CC, 2wd, longbed.<p>Upgrades: Kennedy 4\" exhaust, BD Dynomite box, 100hp propane kit.

Diesel engines are much higher compression, so therefor harder to crank over. I had the same experience as the last guy, with staters & batteries.
    Bill<br />hd90rider@aol.com<br />02 Chevy 3500 Crewcab Dually<br />Amsoil bypass<br />K&N Filter<br />115 Gal for cruisin !!<br />RV & Boat Transporter<br />Need one pulled somewhere???<br /><br />03 Anniv. H/D Ultra<br />2000 Ultra for sale

Leave mine running for the comfort of the air condition.May be some thing to saving on the starter.Has 196,000 miles no starter problem.
    2005 Chevy 2500 HD Duramax CC SB 30,000 miles.
    1994 GMC 2500 Suburban 6.5 TD 210,000 miles.
    1983 Mercedes 300 D Turbo Diesel 150,000 miles.
    1991 Holiday Rambler Aluma Lite XL 30 foot.