PDA

View Full Version : 2006 diesel fuel

Chevy Ryan
03-11-2002, 15:06
I've been browsing the EPA website reading about emissions changes coming in 2004 and 2007. It states that by mid-2006, sulphur content in diesel fuel must drop from 500 parts-per-million (current levels) to 15 parts-per-million. Pretty drastic if you ask me. Anyway, with sulphur providing lubricity for diesel, are pre-2006 diesels going to be junk? What kind of sulphur levels are in bio-diesel?

KenZ
03-11-2002, 18:25
Chevy Ryan,

Yes, that does sound quite drastic. I'm not a fuel expert by any means, but I would think that some sort of additive would bring the fuel up to spec for older diesels. I wouldn't think that biodiesel, which has excellent lubrication qualities, would have any sulphur unless it is a biodiesel mix. I've read that you can have 100%, 50%, 20% and 5% and I guess any combination inbetween. Each having different desireable or undesireable characteristis. Right now, I think the 80-20 mix seems to be popular. Maybe some other mix if the sulphur content drops much lower.

I would love to try the biodiesel, but can't find any around Virginia--or I haven't yet. I dont' think we will be left out in the cold. Kind of like the switch from leaded to unleaded. I think everyone made it through it ok. I think there was a lot more talk about problems than real problems, and plenty of lead additives were on the market. I ran them in my old feurgeson TE-20 tractor for a long time, then stopped. I still don't have any problems running unleaded gas in an engine designed with lead in mind.

KenZ
03-11-2002, 18:31
Disregard my signature, I have to figure out how to update that. Didn't realize it was even on.