PDA

View Full Version : Glow Plugs

MM9135
09-14-2003, 04:57
I feel that this has been covered before but I was unable to find in the search. I am still learning about diesels.

My question is, should glow plugs be changed at regular intervals like spark plugs or are they the type device that could last for the life of the engine?

I own a 1996 6.5L GMC 3500 with 98,000 miles. The plugs appear to be original. They are working fine and the engine starts right up but I am a PM type person and like to catch a problem before it happens. :D

DieselDavy
09-14-2003, 13:12
MM9135,
Where is Georgetown, IN? I'm from Ft. Wayne.
As for Glow plugs, I never change them until they need it. You'll know, rough or uneven starts. I have replaced many over the years, trust me, MANY. But I have not changed a single one since I installed John Kennedy's Fast Glow plugs. Even with shipping, they are right at what I would pay locally for the current ACDelco G60s. They heat up quicker and can tolerate extended glow time. I have a pretty wore out 6.2 I use for a daily driver and I need more than twice the normal time in the winter to get her started. John's Fast Glow plugs have been in her for around 3 years and I've not had one fail yet. I have a set in another GM diesel also. I took out some good ones in that one just to get the Fast type in there. They work great! IF and WHEN you have starting problems, Call John!
Dave

ucdavis
09-14-2003, 13:55