PDA

View Full Version : Rear End lube capacity

Cornell
05-11-2004, 10:44
Today I had my rear and my transfer case serviced at the dealer(due to the fact I do not have the time myself) When I look at the bill the tech only charged out 3 quarts of rear fluid.(Grape juice) When I questioned him about it, he informed me there is TSB about the fliud level in the rears, over filling caused pinion seal failure. The proper new fill level was ABOUT 1/2 inch below the fill hole, which in turn would be 3 quarts instead of 4. I have been using the same dealer and the same tech for many years and I have no problem with his work or his Knowledge. Has anybody come across any similar infomation. There is no reason for him to make it up. I am just curious.( I have a 2004 LLY Crew cab 4 WD with the locking differential). :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Flyboy
05-11-2004, 12:39
Stick your little finger in the hole to the first joint and if you touch oil, it is right. That's what a trusted Mr Goodwrench told me about two years ago.

ZL-1
05-11-2004, 21:45
For my information, when you change the lube in the rear case,is there a gasket on the rear housing? If there is a gasket, is it a GM part and what is the no.? When changing the front oil, would you take off the cover, and is there a gasket? Same gasket? Thanx. 3 or 4 quarts in the back, and 2 in the front? Right? A lot of questions. Thanx again... One final question, is it best to take off the covers when changing the oil?

DmaxMaverick
05-11-2004, 22:04
I don't believe it is necessary to remove the cover on the rear. I did on one and didn't see any advantage to it. Use the drain plug. It drains completely, and the magnetic plug gets all the metal that I saw.

The front has no cover. To open it, you have to split the case. Use the drain plug.