PDA

View Full Version : DmaxMaverick follow-up - Glow Plug SES

dogren
11-03-2005, 10:18
DmaxMaverick,
Thanks for coming to the aid of a rookie with a glow plug SES code. I reviewed your earlier post but, as a rookie, I are not too smart. Can you be more specific with the location of the controller? Getting the initial overall voltage reading to begin the diagnostic process for the plug by plug is escaping me. Is there a diagram and a procedure

DmaxMaverick
11-03-2005, 11:37
No prob!

The controller is at the rear/left (driver's side) of the engine, over the valve cover, close to the firewall. There is a large, red battery cable connected at the left side. The connectors are on top, at the rear of the controller. The conectors are inline, 4 pole plugs (like an inline trailer plug), and are L/R correct, meaning the left connector is the left bank, etc. White set is left, red set is right....doesn't get more simple than that. There is nothing between the connectors and the plugs, so no resistors or relays to consider when testing. A diagram isn't really necessary, as the entire circuit (except the PCM circuit) is exposed, and pretty obvious.

The voltage reading needs to be taken by a scanner, or Predator programmer, as it is monitored by the PCM. When checking the connectors, you only need to check continuity between the connector poles, and ground, as the other end of that wire is connected directly to the plug. You can check the ohm's, but that would be splitting hairs. A closed plug will [usually] be good, and an open plug will be bad.

I, too, heard the cost of relays was about the same as the entire controller.

How were you able to pull the P0380 in the first place? If you have access to a scanner, check the GP voltage on a cold engine during the Wait To Start cycle.

At any rate, I snapped some pic's of the controller/connectors and uploaded them to my Webshots album. Just click on the "Truck Stuff Pic's" in my sig. and select "GP Controller".

On edit: