PDA

View Full Version : Help Newbie Alert!

20050824|7|006327|000000|216.230.93.198
10-16-2003, 15:37
Hiya Gang!

Well I am a COMPLETE NEWBIE in the world of diesels. My 2003 is the very first one i have ever owned so naturally im lost since its NOT the setup (gas) that im used to. SO BARE WITH ME smile.gif ...I feel some stupid questions coming!!!

Well my truck is stock and is a 2003 2500HD Duramax 4x4 (Long Bed/Ext Cab). I am towing a 30ft Weekend Warrior. I have been reading numerous threads only to unfortunately confuse the crud out of me in some cases. So here it goes
!

#1- I want mo POWER!!!!! I have read about the Juice/Attitude combo, Superchips, DSG I believe it was. I am under the impression this forum would agree the Juice/Attitude combo is the best all around? Does it void warranties? Where have some of u placed this unit in your truck. I have a Prodigy controller down by my right knee currently.

#2 - Since I am completely stock do I need to be worried about a Pryo/boost gauge at the moment? I know i should have one if i get a controller installed?

#3 - As for air filters I live in California...I will be frequenting Glamis and Pismo which are sand dunes...I DO NOT want to jack my truck up because of poor filtration. I too once had a K & N and because of the fine amount of stuff I found in my tube put back my stock filter on my old 2002 DODGE RAM <--I know bad bad word but I got rid of it!. Whats does the best job at filtration while maximizing air flow based on where i might be? A friend of mind just switched out his stock air filter for a big rig version. What do you recommend?

4- Oil Filtration/Fuel Filtration I guess i really dont understand why you need to have redundant systems. Someone explain this to me????????? Again what is recommended...