PDA

View Full Version : Dealer Generated Air Filter Issues

afp
04-11-2003, 21:58
I have to take my truck in Monday to have the lopey idle fixed. It's getting worse and today, the truck stalled on me before it was warmed up. I knew it was just a matter of time--I have been putting this off for several months now.

The "DMax" guy at Gunn told me to take my K&N Aircharger system off before I brought it in. He said they wouldn't work on it under warranty unless I had a totally stock air intake to include a stock paper air filter. I can't even "swiss cheese the stock airbox". I'm not going to put the Aircharger back on for a while if at all. I guess I'll get either a K&N or Amsoil filter for the stock airbox. I will still have to take the aftermarket filter out for warranty work, but it will take 2 minutes instead of 30 minutes to swap.

The guys at Edge say there is no difference in power output on the dyno between a totally stock air intake vs anm open system. Maybe I don't need anything other than a paper filter. The truck sure doesn't feel as strong with the stock unit vrsus the K&N Aircharger, but seat of the pants feel isn't reliable. I am also concerned about getting water in the stock airbox when hunting season rolls around. Water will choke off the stock filter--had that happen before on a different vehicle.

If the engine was operating at 100% volumetric efficiency, it would need 382 CFM at 3300 RPM. However, turboed engines run at much higher VEs. If the turbo doubled VE, then we'd need almost 800 CFM at max RPM. I don't know anyone who has any clue what the airflow of a stock paper vs Amsoil vs K&N vs K&N Aircharger are.

Those of you who have expereince here.....what is your take? Am I losing power with a totally stock air intake system? Is there a way to keep the water out?

Blaine

ski
04-11-2003, 22:07