PDA

View Full Version : Kennedy headlight system

DURA-MAX3
07-05-2002, 15:56
What is this system and what exactly does it do. How much does it cost and how hard to install, thanks...

NJDMAX
07-05-2002, 16:18
Dura-max3,
The harness allows the use of higher wattage bulbs(without the chance of damaging the headlight switch),and also allows the low beams to stay on with the high beams.The harness has two relays the are wired to your alternator,which almost eliminates any voltage drop.The result is brighter and whiter lights.The harness took me approx.30 minutes to install,I fix cars for a living so it may take you longer. The harness is GREAT. Call Kennedy (715) 255-9433 for the price,I forget what I paid for it. I picked up two harnesses-one for me and one for my father in-law,He loves it also. Hope this helps.
Tom

DURA-MAX3
07-05-2002, 16:22
Thanks NJDMAX i will call the first chance i get...

NJDMAX
07-05-2002, 16:34
Dura-max3,
I forgot one other thing about the install,make sure your grounds are VERY good.Thats the other key to this harness working so well.
Tom

IndigoDually
07-07-2002, 16:11
Also make sure that you put the diode in oriented correctly for "ground side switching".

Otherwise I love it and I got the 70 watt lows and the 100 watt highs.

John

FirstDiesel
07-07-2002, 18:58
I put one in the other night and kept the stock bulbs. Still made a huge difference.

I do have a question for the electronic gurus or JK though. If I'm correct this harness is using the old connectors to control the relays and the relays are switching power from the battery to provide better voltage to the headlights. If this is the case then the switching side of the harness is fused through the stock headlight fuses. I didn't see any fusing for the power side of the harness though?? Shouldn't there have a been a fuse installed in the harness so if there is a short you don't melt it down??

NJDMAX
07-07-2002, 19:32
Firstdiesel,