PDA

View Full Version : Installed the K+N Aircharger kit.

stevem
04-09-2002, 17:48
K+N Aircharger kit.This is the kit that replaces the factory air box. $221 from Summit Racing.

Took about 20 min to install, no cutting or holes to drill, it is a simple bolt in kit utilizing factory bolts and studs.

The turbo whine is now VERY VERY LOUD smile.gif smile.gif .Throttle is much more responsive. So if you like a loud turbo this kit will not disappoint.Sorry, I dont have any G-TECH numbers or MPG gains at this time.

Yes I know some people say that K+N filters are junk, but I have been running a K+N in my VW aircooled Rail-Buggy for many years. At times the dust in the air is so thick that I can not see 5 feet in front of me. I have not had a problem with dust entering my motor during these harsh conditions.Last year when I had the motor apart for a cam change the bearings, pistons and cyl's all were in like new condition. The guy at the machine shop was amazed at how clean the inside of the motor was.

So if a K+N is capable of filtering dust from fog like conditions, it is more than good enough for a 95% street driven Duramax. IMHO.

Steve.

www.picturetrail.com/stevem

[ 04-09-2002: Message edited by: stevem ]</p>

pullinpower
04-09-2002, 18:41
Great to hear you like it! :D I bought one today and was wondering if you could hear the turbo better and if it spooled up quicker.Can you post some pics? Mine wont be here till Friday :mad: .

DMAXTODD
04-09-2002, 22:27
This kit definatly makes a big difference.The Turbo is much louder and the truck generally responds to throttle faster,the only downside is I am a bit paranoid about the filtering ability of the K&N? Virtually unrestricted airflow huh? maybe I will run my amsoil filter again when it's dusty in the summer around here.

mdrag
04-09-2002, 23:46
Broker's Dmax is reported to be over 300K - I haven't followed his saga closely but occasionally read of the incredible mileage on his Dmax.