PDA

View Full Version : Lift Pump / Mega Installed

GM Smitty
08-12-2003, 17:38
Installed the Mega 2 weeks ago. I've been running the Racor 2 micron pre-OEM for about 6 months now, but I can't stop wrenching on this truck, and after seeing some excellent fuel analysis results with the Mega, I really wanted one. If any one is looking for a high quality kit that offers excellent filtration, I suggest this filter (HOLY ****, it's BIG! :eek: )

As soon as I drove the truck, it felt better, smoother, quieter. I was sure it was all in my head. I had a trip of 300 miles with a 10,000# trailer before I installed the Mega, and the identical trip after the install. Second trip got about 1.5 mpg better. I definitely feel this filter is making my truck run better.

Also had a Stanadyne FM100 with lift pump on the bench ready to go in. I was going to wait to see if I had any air issues with the Mega (which I didn't in 1000 miles), then install the lift pump. Well, I couldn't look at the lift pump any more and had to install it. I have some pics up. Used the needle valve method for controlling pressure and also providing a bypass should the lift pump fail. Needle valve is almost all the way open, running at 1 psi (at the Mega out port). If I close the valve all the way, I get 6 psi.

Just want to thank the members here who really know thier stuff and share their information. You fellas who have already installed lift pumps made it much easier for me. I read here everyday and am amazed by the wealth of information provided. Thanks again.

Josh :D :D

Kennedy
08-12-2003, 18:42
Thanks for the support!

Suffice to say, those who are disbelievers, have never held this system in their hands...

dmaxalliTech
08-12-2003, 19:04
changed out a racor 90 pre filter and an oem filter today, stacked them on top of each other after cutting open and MEGA filter was the winner. Size is everything, and I think the big filter helps too :D