PDA

View Full Version : best option for filtering fuel

dcmsu
05-05-2003, 15:36
I am new to the duramax, but here's my understanding of it...The filter from the dealer is expensive and only filters down to like 10 micron. An alternative would be to get a filter that fits the stock bracket and filters finer (is this even available)? Or to install dual filters, or to install one big filter that filters very fine, 2 micron.

I just bought the truck with 60k on it, and want it to last a long time, what should I do?

Dan

chuntag95
05-05-2003, 15:48
Same answers as your oil post. There is no current replacement for the OEM fuel filter. All are made by Racor and supposed to be to 2 micron. Real world testing does not agree with the 2 micron rating. There are several filter threads to read, some over 6 pages at 40 posts each for you to read and consume.

Pat T
05-05-2003, 16:17
Has there been any definitive, empirical, final data from all the filter tests some of the guys have done? I've seen lots of "Wait till the next results get back" and then could never find the final results. Would like to know what has finally prompted JK and a few other to build their versions of a seconardy fuel filter system, and the hard data that shows before/after results. If I've missed it, I apologize, just point me in the right direction.

Pat T

jbplock
05-05-2003, 16:53
Pat,

Go to JK's website. He posted before and after data for his filter. (www.kennedydiesel.com)
smile.gif

a64pilot
05-06-2003, 07:24
IMHO, if you are going to filter down to 2 microns, don't try to do it all at once. Racor and other manufacturers recommend against it.
So this leaves installing another filter. I believe that post OEM is the ticket. I would like personally to find a 10 micron absolue filter to mount where the OEM is and another 2 micron absolute to mount after it. Unfortunately there is no 10 micron filter that I am aware of that can mount on the stock filter head.