PDA

View Full Version : Radiator Rodding

StephenA
09-25-2003, 09:15
Does anyone have any tips on radiator rodding? I figure it's time to pull mine and have it rodded, although I have no experience on how to tell if it's needed or verify if the price or job from the radiator house is good. Suggestions?

ucdavis
09-25-2003, 09:35
The best way to get great rad service is find the shop locally that the hot-rodders use. These guys are usually the hobbyists & artisans, and learn their trade cuz they love it, not cuz its a good way to skin the public. The shop I use is honest & does lots of custom work. If they are not the lowest $ around, they don't miss it by much, and I know they know its right when its done.

StephenA
09-25-2003, 10:07
Excellent advice, UC. Would you recommend a back flush first to see what the flow is like or is 170k time for rodding regardless?
-s

ucdavis
09-25-2003, 11:23
Rodding is more a function of specific type of antifreeze, amount of contamination in water added initially & since, & frequency of service. The "permanent" coolants like DexCool w/distilled water should be A-OK @ your mileage. Old style coolants &/or minerals in H2O crud up the passages. But a good shop can do a series of tests for coolant flow, etc. & tell for sure.
Biggest single prob w/6.5's seems to be the space between radiator & AC condenser that never gets cleaned cuz you can't see it. Many have died young for lack of said cleaning, even after abundant attention to cleaning back of rad & front of condenser.
Kennedy or Hayden improved fan clutch is next best investment after said cleaning. Also, if you have no idea how old the thermostat is, it's time for a new one.

Journeydog
09-25-2003, 13:47
This guy not speak with forked tongue. Unless you keep this engine cooled, you are begging for a new one. I'm going through the engine transplant process right now and it all started with a major clogged radiator.

Hi Mike!

StephenA
09-25-2003, 14:16