PDA

View Full Version : High Idle

wxmn6
10-26-2002, 20:18
I'm still a newbie with my first new truck. '02 2500HD 6.0L gas. I was surprised that 2500HD and 3500 could have high idle switch. I just never thought that they would have it. What I would like to know is if it is benefit to have high idle on our truck? Why is it a good idea to have one, and what do you use it for? It got me interesting and I would like to hear more about it.

Maverick
10-26-2002, 22:58
The only reason I have it is for faster warm-up on cold mornings, holding heat in the motor while loading and unloading in winter, and running the A/C on hot days while unloading or loading freight as it works better if the rpm's are faster. A/C doesn't work well if idleing. I do plan on installing a PTO at a later date also.

wxmn6
10-27-2002, 20:23
Where can I get the instruction for wiring a high idle switch on my '02 6.0L gas truck? Thanks.

Turbo Al
10-28-2002, 12:31
This topic has been moved to the "Duramax 6600" forum.

mdrag
10-28-2002, 13:01
wxmn6,

The only high idle instructions I've seen are for the Dmax or the 8.1L gasser - I don't know if this is possible or if it will work on the 6.0L gasser :confused:

SoMnDMAX
10-28-2002, 13:25
Just a guess, but since the 6.0L uses a cable operated throttle, I would bet the simple high idle the 8.1 and the 6.6 use will not work. The 8.1 uses a "drive by wire" setup, which uses a servo motor to drive the throttle body.....

wxmn6
10-28-2002, 19:36
:( So are you saying there is no way to install high idle on 6.0L gas at all?

AbqGeorge
10-28-2002, 19:58
wxmn6,

JC Whitney, I'll bet, still sells one of those manual throttle cables. Works like the old manual chokes did. We all put them on our cars for winter time use when I was stationed in Watertown, NY. Brrrr. Actually saw -50F there one time.

wxmn6
10-28-2002, 21:10