PDA

View Full Version : How Much Torque Can The Allison Take?

Redhawk
04-15-2002, 14:48
I've seen a lot of posts about chipping the Duramax and it sounds like fun, but what happens to the Allison transmission when all of a sudden it gets 100 lbs or more of torque it wasn't designed to handle? I know it probably can handle moderate overload for awhile, but I'm seeing posts that sound like transmission killers to me. Even the fact that the transission will slip if too much torque is applied, thereby saving the transmission, seems to me to create excessive heat which is the enemy of any auto. Am I missing something here? Is anything being done to these trannys before they are chipped. Just curious.

mackin
04-15-2002, 19:23
The only performance box that has posted and taken it into consideration is the "JUICE"which works within the pyrometers of the Allison......The number that is considered "SAFE" is 250 FT LBS....... I am no expert but, I got the "JUICE" and my truck is real quick, and tranny is acting fine as I can tell by the way it shifts...Haven't had a concern.... One difference you can tell is less downshifting .... It really doesn't matter mod or no mod if you take your truck out every day and beat the crap out of it something is going to break..... If you inhance your truck let's say with the JUICE and you use that extra power wisely. For towing, hill climbing, better acceleration in certain conditions, and only occasionally showing off and getting nuts
I'm positive it will be fine IMHO.....Why would anyone do it ?If not true..... I have not heard of one tranny failure or one broke because of a mod yet......Some limps and ses mostly the earlier boxes and some that run propane.
MAC :D :D

MNBowTie
04-15-2002, 20:01
Mackin,