PDA

View Full Version : 5wt-40wt syn oil

Turbo Al
12-12-2003, 10:12
I am going up where the sun don't shine and it gets down to -30 so I changed over to 5-40wt syn oil as per GM spec in the owner's manual.
First I am the cheapest guy in the world and the oil cost me about $90 at Walmart. I am hoping to leave it in there for a while but worry about next summer -- hopefully no heavy tows.
Second this truck has NEVER run better -- it runs so smooth that I have to check the tack at idle to see if it is running also a noticeable increase in power -- so maybe I will get my money back in fuel savings :D

Buck
12-12-2003, 10:33
I have been running Mobil Delvac 5w40 for a couple years now, year round, it gives more protection than the dino stuff. ;) Not a problem with heavy towing, at least what I use. I change oil at 5000 miles, the oil still gets dirty! I don't know why some people claim extended change intervals :rolleyes: Better safe than sorry smile.gif

George Morrison may have something to say on this topic ;)

george morrison
12-12-2003, 16:35
I do not know what brand 5W-40 you are running, but with a full synthetic the oil is essentially a straight 40W that is unaffected by both extreme cold and heat. The "W" means a winter rating of 5, not that it is a 5W oil; it is actually a thicker base stock, thicker oil than a typical 15W-40 diesel oil. Thus you get the best of both worlds with a full synthetic engine oil. They generally flow to -40F or lower, provide instananeous oil flow, the same with starting (diesels rely on that oil film for compression; synthetics cling to the walls, provide better sealing on cold starts, much better, quicker starting) yet unequalled protection in heat extremes of summer. This is why many military vehicles that are rapid deployment have Delvac 1 installed at build. They can be deployed to arctic or desert operations with no concern for operability.