PDA

View Full Version : '06 Duramax MPG Question

KellyD
01-30-2006, 06:56
I don't know if anyone has noticed this or if it's just mine, but I've been watching my fuel mileage on the computer recently. I've been averaging around 14.9 - 15.8 according the "Avg Econ" computer readout for just putting around town and back and forth to work.

Well, I started playing around with the Tow/Haul feature, even though I'm not towing anything and just driving around. Turned it on and left it on. This appears to, among other things, keep the torque converter in a locked-up state the majority of the time for both accel and de-accel. Surprisingly my fuel computer started climbing my Avg Econ by quite a bit. After driving around for an hour or so, it went way up to 16.8. I've never seen it that high for driving around like that. Is this because of the shifting and converter lockup behavior changes? The engine rpm seemed to want to stay higher most of the time, which I would have thought would have negatively impacted fuel economy.

Anyone else tried this or experienced this?

-Kelly

silverback
01-30-2006, 21:36
I'm pretty sure your computer (DIC?) MPG readings are inaccurate due to the larger tire size. I may be full of BS but I recall other posts regarding the accuracy of the computer. Even if you have used a programmer to set the new wheel size I believe it only corrects the speedo and odometer.
-KL

KellyD
01-31-2006, 05:16
Originally posted by silverback:
I'm pretty sure your computer (DIC?) MPG readings are inaccurate due to the larger tire size. I may be full of BS but I recall other posts regarding the accuracy of the computer. Even if you have used a programmer to set the new wheel size I believe it only corrects the speedo and odometer.
-KL Why would this inaccuracy only show up when I hit the Tow button? It's had 35" tires since the day I bought it and it's appeared to be somewhat accurate so far.