PDA

View Full Version : Need more air!(my 1st post)

DinoMax
05-20-2003, 17:18
These questions may be old, but I am a newbie, so bear with me. I am currently running the predator, v1.04, and have a 4" exhaust installed. I do not have any gauges (yet), and I do not tow anything. I usually run in the 60 or 85 hp mode with the predator. Is it safe to cut holes in the stock airbox, and is the OEM filter OK? Also, is running at these settings safe w/out gauges? I live in So. Florida, and the weather is always HOT! I look forward to sharing info. Thanks, DinoMax

sdaver
05-20-2003, 19:47
use the search function lots of good information about swissed cheese air boxes and filters............along with the k&n vs amsoil air filter debate...............get some guages............and by the way welcome. :D dave

mackin
05-20-2003, 19:49
Welcome Dinomax ....

Sounds like you have a nice truck ... First off I would recommend getting gauges as it is always important when running any type of performance enhancements ... But at least your not towing so it's important not a panic situation ...

The stock air box is real restrictive ... Most have drilled holes in their airbox BELOW the filter ... You will get more air flow which will result in less turbo lag ... To fold if you dump the 55 gallon choking muffler also ...

Some have Swiss cheesed their airbox but I fell really it's the wrong approach to draw air from the hot engine compartment ... I drilled only the front with a big hole saw ... Two holes approx. 2" ....