PDA

View Full Version : Diesel Exhaust

FightinTXag
07-30-2002, 21:48
I'm fairly new to diesels. I had a 6.5L TD in a k2500 a while back, but stock exhaust. I've only heard aftermarket exhausts on Cumminses and Powerstrokes and those motors are loud from the factory. I like the way the Banks sounded in DMaxDiva's sound clip and Kennedy has a video clip of a pickup reving with his exhaust and it too sounds great. It's hard to get a feel for how loud it is since you can adjust the volume. I like the throaty sound, but don't want any more diesel clatter at all. The ability to carry on a conversation outside my truck with it running impresses my friends with Cumminses, and I don't want my truck to be any louder at idle if possible. Does exhaust make the diesel clatter louder or does it just add the throaty rumble. I was told that I could hear the turbo whine in the 6.5L if I freed up the exhaust. Does the whine get louder in the Duramax with aftermarket exhaust? I can handle more exhaust and/or turbo noise when I stomp the loud pedal, but I really don't want any more diesel clatter while cruising or idling. Will the Banks and/or KD system perform this way? If not, are there any less restrictive exhaust systems that don't increase idling and cruising noise?

matt-max
07-30-2002, 23:33