PDA

View Full Version : New Duramax owner with questions

BadDog
07-31-2002, 22:52
Well, now you have another newbie to deal with. :D

To get to the point, I just bought a pretty much loaded white '02 2500HD Chevy 4x4 Crew SWB with D/A. I've never even owned a diesel before (at least not long enough to care or learn much about it) so I'm pretty clueless about the whole thing. I've been reading here pretty much since I bought the rig a couple of weeks ago. Now I've joined as well. I'm not a newbie to online message boards so I have been trying to search out as many answers as possible without posting stupid newbie redundant questions. However, I'm left with some questions that I couldn't find clear answers to, or perhaps I just don't have sufficient points of reference to understand what I saw.

1) What in general does a clueless diesel newbie need to know about these things that is not in the service manual and schedule? MudNUrI is on another board where I sometimes hang out and she tells me that the first engine and differential oil change should probably be done well ahead of GM schedule. Around 500 miles or so IIRC. Well, I

CSDMAX
08-01-2002, 07:38
BadDog, no biscuit :D

Welcome! With all of the reading about this GREAT truck, heres my 2 cents...
1. Get your fluids changed - Diff, Tranny, and Oil. Go synthetic!
2. Gauges - Boost and EGT (everyone says.. It's a must)
3. Air Filter (AMSOIL or K&N)...you decide (tons of info here on this issue)
4. 4 inch Exhaust (a bunch of different options) Hot products (no puhn intended) - Kennedy Diesel 4 inch system OR Banks 4 inch system.
5. Power upgrades for towing - (should you decide that you need it) Edge Products - The Edge Power Juice, BD Products, Duramaximizer, VanAaken, etc. (again, lots of info avail. just check the search tool)