PDA

View Full Version : 93 6.5 TD lacking power

donziroc
11-11-2004, 19:50
Im new to the diesel world, I bought a 93 6.5 TD pickup. My problem is: sometimes in the morning, i go to start it up and it starts right up, with little white smoke. Then all of a sudden, a few seconds later, it dies. I have to turn it off and on 3 or 4 times and then it starts and stays running. This also has happened when i have been driving it and shut it off, then say 5 minutes later or longer, it might or might not start. "initially starts but then it dies".
My second problem is when i first pull out in it, barely giving it any throttle, it pulls out good, then all of a sudden, it pulls very hard, if i push the pedal past half way, it falls on its face. I only get that 1 burst of great power once. the rest of the time, it is just flat. BUT.... if i let it idle for a few minutes and get back in it, hold the throttle about 1/4 way, it will do it again, great power and then sluggish once again.

What do i need to check? it has 183k miles, the wastegate has no vacuum line and no place to connect one to.
any help would greatly be appreciated.
also, it seems my mileage is getting worse.

DP
11-12-2004, 07:01
I had similar issues a few years ago. Mine ended up being the pressure sender for the lift pump. Mine was broken and intermittently would not energize the lift pump.
Good luck.
Dave.

donziroc
11-16-2004, 06:55
what did you do to correct it? i notice when it gets really low on fuel, it seems to run better.

Keith Richards
11-16-2004, 16:55
Do you have any idea how old the injectors are?It sounds like a problem old injectors could cause.Sounds like it gets a burst of fuel then gets cut off.

charliepeterson
11-16-2004, 19:29