PDA

View Full Version : tdc OFFSET

Slim shady
11-30-2005, 15:02
I know this is an old question but here goes.
I just put a 6.5 with 18.5:1 pistons and ported heads together and Spring loaded waste gate controller. I have been looking for the TDC offset,. I know the factroy setting is 0.00 to -.55 but I have also heard that the phaser gear sets run -1.70 to -1.90 as the TDC offset.
Right now I am running -1.40 and it seems a little loud as far as rattle. When I set it back to the factory setting at -.55 it is real quite but doesn't seem to have the throttle response. Any ideas? I have a MAC Master tech and have rest the TDC offset so I don't need to know how to do it, I just need some input on what others have run their TDC offset at.

Thanks

nvmtnlion
11-30-2005, 15:05
The common school of thought is to run at about -1.92 for performance or -1.5 for towing. I am going to set mine at -1.5 when I get my new timing set since the higher settings come with more clatter.

Slim shady
11-30-2005, 15:17
I have tried the -1.90 setting but since I have 4.10 gear sets at highway speed I am running around 2600 rp, at 75 miles an hour at it seemed quite loud . I figured the 18.5 :1 pistons would make it rattle a little less. It starts hard when the TDC offset is at the factory setting to. I will keep an eye on the responses but I will try the -1.50 setting and see how it is. I noticed boost goes down when I use the higher TDC offset. Ran it at 0.00 for about one day and 15 psi of constant boost under load wasn't uncommon up untill around 2200 rpm.

rjschoolcraft
11-30-2005, 16:57
I ran -1.94 on stock compression and run that now with my new 18:1 engine. Can't tell any difference in sound at all. The dyno data shows the performance gain...

And, oh... I tow a lot!

Cowracer
12-01-2005, 05:07
RJ,

Does yours have a 'rattle' (for lack of a better term) at around 2500 rpm when lightly loaded (coasting or maintaining speed)