PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 diesel getting the most out of truck

DIESELMAN 6.5
12-08-2001, 16:34
i bought my 1995 chevy 4x4 3/4 ton with 6.5 turbo diesel a month ago.i am new to owning a diesel and wanted to know from members of this forum what i can do to get the most out of the truck without spending a lot of money on stuff.how are the k and n filters as far as getting better fuel mileage? my pride and joy has only 84000 miles on it and i can tell from the condition of the truck that it has been taken care of.what other stuff can i do or get to get the most life out of the truck and engine ? any help would be appriated.p.s i want to get replacement rubber pieaces that go on the front brush guard.the pieaces are the big rubber pieaces that you would push something with.they are holded on by 2 bolts.i dont have a manufactures number at all on the truck so i dont know where to start.i have been to chevy dealer and auto parts places and nobody can help me.please help me with my ?s.thank you.

Tough Guy
12-10-2001, 20:40
Hey there,
There are lots of things you can do....air filter and exhaust..intercooler...Joining the "page" is money well spent, the articles volume 98' and 99' would answer any question you may have..

------------------
300HP 6.5L Intercooled Turbo Diesel
0-60 under 9.0 sec.
Member #136
18 MPG

merlin70
12-25-2001, 22:47
after the problems i have had with that motor, my answer is to get the most out of your truck yank out the 6.5 and drop in a 454!!!!

DIESELMAN 6.5
12-26-2001, 16:27