PDA

View Full Version : Tire chains, yes or no?

Penngrovian
10-31-2002, 13:23
Let me start by saying this is my first 4x4 and I have no experience in driving in snow as we live in the SF Bay Area.

We are going to Lake Tahoe next week and the possibility of the first snow of the season is out there.

We have a '02 Silverado 3500 D/A, CC, dually 4x4 and carry a 3000 lb. truck camper.

Owner's manual says on p.6-66, no chains permitted if you have dually LT 265-75R16 tires.

Our truck has LT 215-85R16 tires. Goodyear Wrangler SR

Service advisor says "no chains, use special cables" Service director and service mgr not available for comments.

Chevy customer assistance said they don't know much about this subject but would get back to me tomorrow.

So, who out there has my size tires and are you using chains or cables or ????

If I have 3000 lbs. in the bed of the truck, do I need chains/cables?

Are my 85 tires wider than the 75 tires mentioned on p. 6-66 of the owners manual. Is this what I am missing?

Any and all comments will be appreciated.

PS: I measured the distance between the dually tires at the narrowest point and it looks to be about 1 inch or 1-1/4 inch max. Maybe this is the reason the service advisor said "cables, not chains" as the chains would rub against each other?

[ 10-31-2002: Message edited by: Penngrovian ]

[ 10-31-2002: Message edited by: Penngrovian ]</p>

chuntag95
10-31-2002, 14:17
I can't help much, but I can answer your width question. The 265 is 265 mm, so your 215's are skinnier by about 2 inches. 25.4 mm equals one inch. If you have an all season tire or a AT tire, I would think that the 3000 lbs would put you in good shape for traction on snow. But, don't listen to me on that if someone from Co chimes in as I live in Tx and have all my life.

mackin
10-31-2002, 17:13
Penngrovian

Lived in the North East all my life ... Driven in blizzards .....During white outs....That is scary......Dually winter driving since 1988......