PDA

View Full Version : 25K Service - Pat On The Diesel Page's Back

woundedbear
01-07-2003, 12:30
Just felt a need to thank everyone here that makes The Diesel Page the informative site that it is!

This past weekend, I got together with my uncle who has the same truck as me, except the extended cab, longbox configuration, to perform 25K preventative maintenance services. Although informing my uncle of this site when we purchased our trucks over a year ago, he never took the time to visit and obviously wasn't convinced of the benefit.

After our tasks were efficiently completed without the usual "surprises" and delays, let's just say that he thought that I worked as a GM tech on the side. Our tasks included the following:

Allison "pump and feed" ATF change - Both performed complete ATF changeout. I replaced the Dexron-III with Amsoil ATF, my uncle with fresh Dexron-III. Drained pan, replaced external filters (while remembering to reuse magnet) with filters I purchased at Allison shop for less than $9 each (uncle was going to purchase at dealer), added ATF, pulled "from cooler" line without anything but a flathead screwdriver :cool: , attached via interference fit 3/4" I.D. clear hose over line fitting, and "pumped and fed" in 1 gallon intervals until all old ATF was removed from system, reassembled line, cycled through gears, then checked cold ATF levels. Smooth as silk...solely due to everyone's input here!

On a side note...regarding the ATF change, we noticed something that maybe someone here can make some sense of, or at least express similar experiences. My ATF was at operating temperature and my uncles was not, since we did all of this in his garage. When we drained his, it looked almost new (clear and deep red). When I drained mine, it was more opaque and had an almost brown tint to it. Both smelled sweet and not burned. Driving habits and mileage, for all intensive purposes, the exact same. :confused: