PDA

View Full Version : Brake Line Tee Question

DonG
11-07-2002, 12:14
Hi,
I am working on getting my new Duramax truck set up for towing. I have determined the best brake controller for my application is one that monitors the brake line pressure of the tow vehicle. To accomplish this, I need to insert a one inch brass tee in one of the two brake lines at the master cylinder. It seems simple enough; separate the existing fitting, insert the new tee, reconnect the brake line to the new tee, connect the pressure sensor to the tee.

Two questions: Should I use a pipe thread lube on the threads? And is there some method to minimize the loss of brake fluid, and eliminate any air intrusion?

I know there is lots of experience on the Diesel Page, but I have not seen this discussed.

Thanks, Don

SoCalDMAX
11-07-2002, 12:39
I'm no expert, but I have seen this discussed on other boards. A long time ago, the hydraulically activated setups were the best modulated around.

But now, with the ABS and other stuff, the brake controller mfrs don't even want to mess with all of that and don't want the liability. A lot of people have suggested and use the Jordan brake controller. It's electronic, but gets it's signal from a cable attached to the brake pedal. Once properly adjusted (less than a minute), it gives a braking signal to the trailer in direct proportion to how far you step on the brake pedal. It is a digital, electronic, proportional controller that receives direct input from your brakes, but it uses the brake pedal arm rather than the hydraulic system.

I've got it, and it installs and works like a DREAM. Installation time by an owner should be about an hr, a lot less by a pro who's done it before. Only 3 wires (hooks to factory harness), one cable and a few screws. Indicates proper brake connection, error code and current draw to tell you how much power is being applied to the brakes and let you know if there is an open or short.