PDA

View Full Version : Camper carrying capacity for the 2500HD

Fishnfool
06-23-2002, 23:05
Will possibly be ordering my 2003 D-Max Ex.Cab L.Bed this week and will be buying a camper for it next year. Since I have no experience with campers thought I would ask what is the practical wet weight of a camper for a 2500HD in the above configuration. I guess I'm not sure whether I should buy a 3500 dually instead. My guess on weight on camper I would be buying is 2500-3500 lbs. Thanks - Dave

RWB
06-24-2002, 04:08
This has been a topic of discussion here before. When I decided to buy one of these trucks, I planned on a 2500HD. Fortunately, I decided to camper shop first and discovered most "comfortable" truck campers would push GVWR to the limit or exceed it. THEN you would have to add the weight of people and gear to the equation. I decided the 3500 was the smart choice and boy am I glad I did. I wound up with an 11.5 ft. Arctic Fox truck camper that weighs about 4000 lb. and my dually doesn't mind it a bit :D Once you get used to the extra size of a dually, you'll love the extra payload capacity.

One other thing: I've heard they improved the factory camper mirrors, but I don't know. I got the factory power mirrors when I bought my truck and replaced them with Lucerix power heated mirrors which was the way to go in 2001.

[ 06-24-2002: Message edited by: RWB ]</p>

Fishnfool
06-24-2002, 06:29
RWB

How is the ride of your truck empty? Have been told that I wont like unladen ride of the K3500 vs the K2500. Do you know if there are any ways to tame ride when empty but not reduce carrying capacity? I think a dually would work for me if it didn't beat me up too much driving empty. :(

Dave

RWB
06-25-2002, 04:18
Dave,