PDA

View Full Version : OD lockout question for 77TransAm

CntrlCalDmax
09-10-2002, 17:30
Some time ago you wrote about adding a light to come on with OD disable, you can make a circuit from J1-02 (TCM supplied ignition power) or any other switched power source to J1-20 (TCM supplied ground, grounded only when OD disable is active).

Question is; can I use power from J1-02 for the high idle switch? I don't want to mix up PCM/TCM circuits if it will creat a problem. I'm thinking of using one, double pole, ON-CENTER OFF-MOMENTARY, switch for both mods. On for high idle and the momentary side for OD lockout

Thanks, Leo

hoot
09-10-2002, 20:34
I'm no expert but I see no reason why you can't use the same 12V source for both functions. They draw minimum power so fusing is of no concern. 12V from accessory is 12V no matter if you split one wire or run two seperate ones. They both come from the main source. All you are doing is supplying 12V to certain pins on the ECM. doesn't matter where the 12V source comes from. It should be a clean fused source though.

77TransAm
09-11-2002, 07:41
I've never wired one that way, but I see no reason to disagree with hoot. J1-02 is just a 12v ignition source from the TCM - it shouldn't care what is using the 12v, so there should be no effect on that or any other system.

CntrlCalDmax
09-11-2002, 08:11
Hoot and Trans,

Thanks for the replies. Since the 12vdc source is from a control unit I wanted to make sure it wouldn't be affected. I

hoot
09-11-2002, 08:27
Just be sure the source is on at all times when you need it.

TLA
09-12-2002, 17:37
I tried to use J1-02 for my light for OD lockout, but it was already occupied, as was another 12-v (pink wire - maybe JI-04). I used another source. At least that connector is easy to get to.

CntrlCalDmax
09-12-2002, 20:30