PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here... 2wd vs 4wd

typecast
09-13-2002, 16:30
Hello,

I am researching diesel trucks right now, looking for my next vehicle. If I go with a Duramax, this will be my first diesel, and my first GM product in 20 yrs of driving!

I need something that can tow a travel trailer (up to 7K lbs), seat 3 kids in the back seat comfortably for long trips, will serve as a comfortable (even luxurious!) daily driver for my 30 mile (mostly 65mph freeway) commute each day to work. Seems like we are always needing a truck to haul landscaping mulch or lumber for our household projects; otherwise I would consider an SUV.

The diesel appeals to me for the longevity (I want this truck to last 10+ yrs, 200k miles) and improved gas mileage.

My wife and I test drove a F250 PSD CC last week, but we ruled it out because the back seat didn't have head rests (big flaw especially to a mom of preschoolers), the truck's recirc ball steering felt dead and wandered a lot, and I hate Ford HVAC controls.

I am wondering if there is anything specific to GM trucks I should consider regarding 4wd vs 2wd. I know the system is a part time case vs a full time awd with a center differential (ie Denali, etc), basically making it useful for off-pavement or snowy conditions only. I live in St Louis, and we only get snowy roads a few days a winter. I like to do some exploring off pavement roads, and we do a lot of camping. My current Toyota 4x4 sees very little transfer case use. How strong is the 2500 4x4 transfer case and front differential? Any idea how this might affect my highway mileage? How bad will 2wd affect my resale value?

To be honest, I'm also somewhat concerned about GM build quality and reliability in general. I like to keep my cars a long time; my current 95 Toyota pickup has never needed an unscheduled visit to a service dept. We have just outgrown the thing as a family and it can't tow much.

Thanks for your help.

Galen

SoCalDMAX
09-13-2002, 18:44