PDA

View Full Version : Lift kit voids powertrain warranty?

Mike330R
03-23-2004, 11:53
When buying my truck ('04 CC) I asked specifically if a lift kit would void the warranty. He (finance guy) said it would void the suspension but specifically said it would not harm the motor/trans. Today I asked one of the service managers the same thing and he says that even changing the tire size with void the powertrain warranty. He says it's due to the speeds being read in the front and back wheels can cause it to throw a code.

I called the finance people and they said the lift would not void it but larger tires would. (lift and larger tires go hand in hand) They will give my money back on the extended warranty.

Anyone else had problems getting warranty work done after a lift?

DmaxMaverick
03-23-2004, 16:56
I've been running 285/75/16's for several years now and have no problems with warranty stuff. The service manager did say something to the effect of the bulletin they received about oversize tires, then said that my problem didn't have anything to do with tire size, so don't worry about it. He also said that the warranty is not voided, but they are not supposed to "work" on them until the correct size tires are installed. I read the bulletin and that's what it reads to me. The bulletin does not say anything about voiding anything, just that service for powertrain issues should be declined unless the OEM size tires are on the vehicle.

Legally, they can not decline warranty service for a mod that is not a direct cause for the issue. But, unfortunately, they hold all the marbles. I've even that their complaint department has been outsourced to Bagdad, or somewhere....

Mike330R
03-23-2004, 17:51
it would be crazy to add a lift and keep the stock tires and would look very fishy if I drive in with a 6" lift on stock tires.

The stock tires are not offroad capable. They are to narrow and I would be stuck ASAP.

How does the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act come into play?