PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here... wives or ladies drive these HD trucks?

typecast
09-17-2002, 10:32
Thanks for your replies to my earlier 2wd vs 4wd thread. I think I've decided to go with the 4wd...

My wife was wondering if any ladies/wives ever drive the 3/4 or 1 ton trucks. We are looking at the 2500 crew cab short bed and she's used to driving a Sienna minivan (yeah, one that goes over 100+mph, too! :D ) Do gals get used to the size and enjoy driving the trucks? Do they ever do any of the towing? My wife would like to share some of the driving when we travel but is intimidated by the size of the truck and the 25' trailer (Coleman Caravan 25SLB) we are looking at. With all the construction they are doing on I-70 around St Louis, she's concerned that the rig would be too wide for the narrow construction lanes with no shoulders. My feeling is that people male or female can get used to driving anything; it just takes practice. Look at all the lady semi drivers out there. Anyway, she would like to hear it straight from someone who has the experience.

This will be our first full-sized truck; everything up to now has been Toyota and Nissan pickups, with one lemon Dakota thrown in there that has kept us out of domestic vehicles for 12 yrs.

- Galen

IndigoDually
09-17-2002, 10:57
Oh Boy, wait till MudNurl sees this. :D

The answer to your question is a YES. Our crew cab dually is my wife's daily driver / grocery getter. She parks in a hospital parking lot without any problems. On weekends and some nights she hauls horses in trailers from 25'-37+' long. She also plows snow in the winter. We have even taken trailers through Midtown Manhattan before.

Driving larger vehicles just takes a little getting used to. On the plus side this truck will be quicker than any other truck you have owned before and probably quicker that the minivan. :D

Quicker to get out of trouble and quicker to get into trouble, just look at the thread "Busted" by Mackin.