PDA

View Full Version : What to check when buying???

jpaitala
09-28-2003, 21:31
Newbie want's to say hi to everyone...

I'm in a process of buying a diesel truck now. Two options,
1 - 1993 Chevrolet Silverado crew cab dually 6.5TD 4*4(mileage 150 000)
2 - 1997 Chevrolet Suburban 6.5TD 4*4(mileage 180 000).

What to look when I'm going to see these "trucks"? I have no previous experience with diesel engines. "Specific instructions" would be great.

Thanks.

catmandoo
09-29-2003, 05:00
93 last year of mechanical inj pump.probably less headaches for you overseas.

jpaitala
09-29-2003, 06:54
Anyone with a "check list"???

Mark Bajus
09-29-2003, 11:56
depends how much you want to spend! Some options:

Id do a compression check (would have saved me a rebuild!), look for one or two cylinders lower than others.

Cooling system pressure check (checks for head + head gasket leaks)

oil analysis (checks for internal wear metals, can also check for engine coolant in oil)

slagona
09-29-2003, 12:12
Since no one has given you a list yet, here's what I would do if I were looking at a diesel truck:

1) set up a time to see it - INSIST that the truck be completely cold at this time (sitting at least 3-4 hours - preferably more). A low compression engine will start harder when cold. Many sellers will start it and warm it up just before you arrive so that it seems to start easier.

2) check all fluid levels - make sure you open the radiator overflow - they tend to get tinted with age which makes it appear as if they have fluid in the resevoir. Note the condition of the oil, transmission, and power steering fluid. The oil should be black. Even after a recent change, it will turn black quickly. Transmission fluid should be red with no burnt smell.