PDA

View Full Version : Need help-electrical problem

Ed Hill
05-03-2002, 17:51
Have been reading the board for a while, Impressed with the knowledgeable people who participate on this forum. This is my first attempt to post here. If you can help solve my problem I would appreciate it.

Truck: 2002, 3500, 4x4, Dmax w/Allison, Extended cab, 7500 miles. Been to two dealers - one of them twice.

Problem: Fuse for stop lights and turn signals blows intermittently.

History: (1) Trailer attached to truck (not the first time) fuses for stop and turn blew. replaced fuses. (2) A few weeks later without trailer stop light fuse blew. replaced fuse. Carried truck to one dealer - could not find the problem. Thought it might have been water in the trailer connector and caused a short. Had gone through heavy rain the day I discovered fuse blown.
(3) About 1 week later stop light fuse blew again - no rain or trailer. Took truck to different dealer - spoke to GM - said they knew of one other case like this. Replaced the multifunction switch (turn signal switch). (4) About 3 weeks later (yesterday) - no trailer or water - stop light and turn signal fuses blew. Returned truck to 2nd dealer - the one who replaced the switch. Service manager said he was on phone with GM for about 1 hr. today. Only thing they could subject was that it was the trailer. I told service manager I was not pulling trailer. They are going to check it some more tomorrow. Could not find anything wrong.

Any one had similar experience or have a possible solution? Thanks.

cogburne
05-03-2002, 18:34
Trailer lights are seperate circuits all the way around. Are the trailer or truck light fuses blowing? One should not effect the other. i.e. massive trailer wiring meltdown would not disable vehicle lighting.

mark45678
05-03-2002, 20:57