PDA

View Full Version : Turbo /waste gate ?

gotdiesel
08-01-2005, 12:24
At idle,with the waste gate fully closed should I here the turbo?
I can hold the waste gate closed and nothing changes.

Vacuume pump not working,actuator works fine.

How can I check my turbo? Sorry no gauges yet.

GMC Hauler
08-01-2005, 18:09
You should not hear the turbo at idle.

I believe there are only a few ways to check the turbo. A mechanical gage, look at what the computer sees for boost pressure. An indirect way is to look at how much black smoke you make. If you make some, you're not getting enough air.

gotdiesel
08-02-2005, 03:39
I get black smoke from exhaust with only
materate acceleration. With hard acceleration ,
it's nothing but black smoke,and not much acceleration.
I tried closing the waste gate and holding
throttle at 2500rpm still does not seem to change
anything,if I depress the throttle from there too
fast I get alot black smoke.

I admit that I am new to diesel's and turbo's.
I just want to fix this without replacing parts
that I don't need to.

I will start with the vacuum pump.

Thanks

rjschoolcraft
08-02-2005, 03:43
If you can move the wastegate shaft at idle, vacuum is not getting to the actuator, or the actuator itself has failed internally. Check the vacuum pump with a gage. Should be 22" hg at the pump, about 15" after the solenoid. Search in this forum for more details.

jeffscarstrucks
08-02-2005, 07:45
Is there a similar way to check the actuator on a 93? (gauges are on the way). I am wondering if the turbo-master is a good upgrade and would like to verify before and after results. Didn't mean to hi-jack your thread but it sounds like the same issues I'm on. Thanks, JEFF

jimcreek
08-02-2005, 14:05
on my 1995 gmc 6.5td i had the same problem which turned out to be the turbo boost senser mounted on the intake (looks like a map sensor).
dont do what i did and trust local aftermarket parts house which sold me a MAP sensor.