PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Filter Question

chuntag95
10-05-2002, 14:32
I just changed my fuel filter at 15K miles. Since I saw pictures of someone else's cut open, I just HAD to pull our the sawzall :D :D What I saw was dark media all the way up where the holes are around the two sides at the top of the filter. Where there were no holes, it was dark about 1/3 of the way up. The dark patter was kinda like a pringles potato chip. Can anyone give feedback on if I waited too long or if I pulled it too quickly? :confused: All opinions are greatly apreciated.

Luis
10-06-2002, 06:37
Chris......I'm no expert, but I would say it was from some dirt in fuel passing through and sounds like the filter was doing a good job and you have good fuel. I did the same with my last filter change. Sounds exactly the same. Remember, 15k is the recomendation. It's OK to change early, and you can clog a filter with any dirty fuel, at any mileage. Keep a spare or two and the necessary tools in the truck just incase. It can get you going faster than waiting for road-side service.

Idle_Chatter
10-06-2002, 07:00