PDA

View Full Version : RS9000X w/ in cab control

Diesel Freak
04-02-2003, 00:18
Anybody have a full set of RS9000X's with in cab control? How's it work? Any problem with leaking? Can you adjust them going down the highway?

Thanks!

FirstDiesel
04-02-2003, 05:33
I have no experience with it but the pictures I've seen make it look like it's remote cables. No leaks but I bet you it's a bitch to route and not have it bind up.

mdrag
04-02-2003, 11:16
DieselFreak,

I had the Rancho 9000 with the in cab controller installed in my '92 Suburban. I don't believe the contols have changed.

The 'cables' described by FirstDiesel are actually very small air lines - I don't recall the actual diameter, but they are smaller than a plastic drink mixer. These attach to the in cab controller, a distribution manifold, and a small air compressor. I don't recall it being too to difficult to route and install. I was able to change settings on the fly, and about once a month I would have to add a little air to the system to maintain the settings.

These are not air shocks. The air is used to adjust the shocks' settings in place of the manual adjustment knob. It would take about 10-15 seconds to go from the softest to firmest settings. Some have described corrosion problems with the adjustment fittings, but that was never a problem for me in over 5 years of use in OK.

BTW, there was a very noticable difference between 1 and 5. You can only adjust the settings as a front and rear pair - that is both fronts could be set at one setting, and both rears at the same or different level if desired.

Diesel Freak
04-02-2003, 17:59
Mdrag, what do you mean by needing to add a little air to the shocks once a month? I had the RS9000's on my old Dodge (no cab conrol) I was very pleased with them. I agree, there's a big difference in the settings.

Thanks

mdrag
04-02-2003, 20:13
Diesel Freak,

I found this pic of the in cab controller:

www.samsoffroad.com/samsoffroadsto/rancho.htm#RS99700