PDA

View Full Version : 4L80E slipping from idle?

dbryans
06-28-2005, 19:16
I've started noticing some slipping when going from idle, in gear, brake on to brake off, moving on my '94 K2500 6.5TD 4x4 Suburban. I notice my problem when stoping on an upward slope while in gear but with the brake on. Sometimes (irregular, not hot or under load, yet) shifting into reverse and back will re-engage, sometimes I need to shift to park wait a sec and then back to drive before it will engage.

I just read the codes (grounded the diag terminal, watched the service light) and got the following:
35, 36, 78

I expected to get a 12 to start (based on the service manual and other references online), but never got it.

35 and 36 seem to be Idle Speed and Idle Air controller issues, not sure exactly what to look at there further.

78 looks like a wastegate solenoid problem

Obviously, I'm not a mechanic, nor even remotely familiar with working on my vehicles, but I'm tired of taking it in to have noone actully work with me on diagnosing it, or even taking it for a drive with me. So until I find a place that works with me and I can trust, I'm going to try my hand at this, with y'alls help of course.

Shane...

dbryans
06-29-2005, 07:30
Ok, after a bit more searching, I found the "code 35" (http://forum.thedieselpage.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=004386#000000) thread by Moondoggie. Very helpful read, especially WRT finding the ground locations.

Now, can someone help me figure out how to find and inspect the wastegate solenoid so I can determine what is causing my code 78? The book I have is the "consumer" retail store version that does not have any of the diesel specific info in it.

Shane...

TJ Moose
06-29-2005, 08:06