PDA

View Full Version : I'm confused

DMAX LEGEND
05-09-2004, 07:51
Hi All,
Newbie here and it probably shows. I've never had a travel trailer, but have been lurking here for a bit. I have always thought that 5th wheel trailers ( with a hitch similar to a scaled down 18 wheeler's hitch ) were synonomous with goose neck trailers. Two different terms used to describe the same thing. After reading some posts here, it is obvious that they are different. How are they different, and what are the pros and cons of each? Sorry for what may seem to be a dumb question, but all my towing has been with ball type hitches.

chipper
05-09-2004, 08:43
The gooseneck is a ball mounted in the approximate center of the bed with a vertical pipe type hitch that sits on the ball giving similar towing characteristics to the 5er hitch.

arveetek
05-10-2004, 09:06
No such thing as a dumb question! smile.gif

Here is a very general break-down of the different type of trailer hitchs most commonly used on RV's and utility trailers:

Pull-type, AKA convential, AKA bumper-pull: These are the standard type of trailers that hook up to a ball mounted on the rear of your vehicle, either on the bumper itself, or using a frame-mounted receiver hitch. Male end located on truck, female end on trailer.

Fifth-wheel: similar to the big rigs, these trailers use a hitch mounted to the floor of the pickup bed, extending up into the air around 18", just below the top of the bed rails. The trailer has a pin on it that engages a slot in the hitch with a locking mechanism holding it in place. Used primarily on RV's only. Male end is on the trailer, female end is on the truck.

Gooseneck: uses a ball mounted in the floor of the truck bed, with the hitch mounted to the trailer, extending down to meet the ball on the truck bed. Used primarily on stock/horse trailers, farm trailers, and most utility trailers. Male end is on the truck, female end on the trailer.

Hope this helps some!

Casey

CleviteKid