PDA

View Full Version : trailer brakes

Marlin
01-09-2005, 06:46
Here is the problem. I have a 18' car trailer that has brakes at all four corners. I'm a truck driver so the plugs are wired up correctly. When I apply the brake pedal in the truck the trailer brakes LOCK UP. And when I turn on the right turn signal the brakes will lock up in sinc with the turn signal. When I just use the brake controller to apply the trailer brakes the brakes on the trailer work great. This is driving me crazy. The trailer is only a year old. The fellow I bought it from owned the trailer about 1/2 year.

I'm thinking of repacing the scotch-locks and soldering the connections. Maybe that is the problem.

If anyone has any ideas to help please advise!

Thanks
Marlin aka WIPPdriver

pgreen
01-09-2005, 07:02
Sounds like your right turn signal wire and the trailer brake wires are shorted together somewhere. I don't have the color codes with me, sorry.

I would get away from scotch-locks anywhere. I have seen them do anything from intermittent connections to cutting the wires. In my experience, they are just trouble!

But, the scotch locks probably aren't your problem on this one, at least yet.

P

HowieE
01-09-2005, 07:16
Sorry to say but I would go back and look at the wiring. You are appling 12 to the trailer brakes during pedal application and when the right directionals is on.