PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Brakes Locked

mrmhoffman
04-12-2005, 05:43
Please help...I'm a trailer brake newbie. Just bought my neighbor's horse trailer which has trailer brakes. I pulled this trailer last hunting season with my old 1500 Silverado w/o trailer brake controller...no problems. Since then I traded up to an '01 2500HD Duramax, which I can see it used to have a brake controller before I bought it. Now when I plug into the trailer the trailer brakes lock up. If I unplug, the brakes release. When plugged in, all of the lights, signals,etc work just fine. Where do I go from here? Is it the truck or the trailer? Thanks.

DmaxMaverick
04-12-2005, 07:58
Welcome to The Diesel Page, mrmhoffman!

Click on the link in my signature and open "diagrams". There is a trailer wiring diagram that you can use to verify your truck is wired correctly. Sounds like maybe you have a couple wires reversed, and are putting constant 12V to the brake circuit. If your truck wiring is correct, the trailer may be suspect. Also, check under the dash just to the right of the E-brake for a wire harness plugged into the top left of the circuit block. If it's there, be sure the wires aren't connected to each other. If you are not using a brake controller, you can just unplug the harness from the block, but save it for later.

Good luck!

RVC
04-12-2005, 08:29
If you have the 6 pin connector, some trailer manufactures put the brake wire in the centre pin
which is where the GM 12v power is placed on the truck. Move the trailers brake wire to the S terminal. If the trailer is a 7 pin it will still require the moving of the brake/stop wire on the trailer.

Spindrift
04-12-2005, 14:41
Excuse me for asking the obvious, but is the sensitivity control turned up all the way?

MIKE MOG
04-12-2005, 16:13