PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 feet under

greenbliss
02-02-2006, 16:15
Odometer said 400783mi when the head gasket seemed to blow. I'm thinking it could even be craked block. I could use any advice, are new motors available? Are rebuilds better? What are the must have options?

greenbliss
02-02-2006, 16:57
Are there motors with mechanical fuel pumps?

chickenhunterbob
02-02-2006, 18:03
I'm no expert but so far as I know the long block for either mech injection or the 94+ electronic version of 6.5 are interchangabe.

Your previous engine has sure done you well!

greenbliss
02-02-2006, 23:37
I didn't see it all. I don't know if that was the original motor.

Dvldog8793
02-03-2006, 07:24
Howdy
If you can leave more info about your truck and intended use it might be helpful. Also you might want to do a search on engine ID as there have been a ton of discusions on that subject. When my block went south I went for a NEW AMG GEP long block as thats what GM would help pay for ;) You definently logged in some seriuose miles! There is also a thread here about converting to mechanical injection. The list of upgrades is endless( to include the ultimate upgrade, Cummins) pretty much depends on how deep you pockets are!
Hope this helps!
L8r
Conley

greenbliss
02-03-2006, 11:28
I used the truck for work, daily driver, might haul a ton or so every now and then. I guess my next step is removing the engine to see whats what. Do I need any specific motor stand?

Mark Rinker
02-03-2006, 17:05
A quality heavy-duty stand that can support 600lbs.

Dvldog8793
02-03-2006, 17:41
Howdy
Awhile ago someone did a thread on engine stands. I think the general rule was "QUALITY" not sticker rating. Some off-shore stands rated for 1000lbs would bend but others seemed OK. I think almost all the USA stands rated for at least 600 were good. I used a shop built stand that would probably support the whole truck. :D
L8r
Conley

greenbliss
02-04-2006, 20:38