PDA

View Full Version : Thermostat temp rating effect on HP?

damork
03-19-2006, 09:34
Has anyone found a correlation between HP and thermostat temperature? It seems running with higher temp thermostats (195 vs 180) provides slightly better ecomomy. Maybe someone has already done so, but would be interesting to know.

Bnave95
03-19-2006, 18:12
Today was my Spring cooling system clean up.I have been running 180* Stats For the last 7 years. Now I have choosen to go back to the 195* Stats.
This will give me a ideal if my fuel MPG will get any better. I did make some power runs and power was as before. I did notice less black smoke. The temp gauge must really be off for it will read 210*.(could a new sending unit make a difference?)
Also a reason for me to change is I think the Eng. was running to cool because my CDR vavle and tube going to the turbo was full/clog with black grud like goo.Don't know what caused this other than running to cool.

damork
03-19-2006, 19:22
I've been running 180's going on 4 years but no goo yet, it's just that I saw a slight drop in economy with the 180's.

Bnave95
03-20-2006, 02:46
Back in 98 I installed the cooling Mod's and the push at that time seem to be using the 180* as a means of keeping the system cooler. Now through the years having read that there may be to much of a heat cycle going on that may not be good on the Eng.
When I was towing a TT I could see temps around 210* and would cool down to 180*. At one time even JK pushed the 180*, though through the years that thought has changed.
Not towing any more and would like to see my MPG go up somewhat.
When I was towing with the single stat(180*) the clutch fan would cycle. With the duel stats the fan has never had to lock up.
Some member wish they could get even higher Deg. Stats.Say around 210*